RFL board approves takeover of Widnes Vikings

The takeover of Widnes Vikings from administration has been approved by the Rugby Football League board, preserving 72 jobs. The consortium that is buying the club consists of Chris Price, Jason Shaw, Roger Harrison MBE, Stuart Murphy, David Dean, Tracey Glendinning, and Rod Steele. The deal has seen the Vikings incur a 12 point penalty for the 2019 Championship season, meaning the club now sits on -8 points. First team players Adam Tangata, Krisnan Inu and Wellington Albert have all left the club.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *